never2old
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeHome  GalleryGallery  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Cherry Date Loaf

Go down 
2 posters
AuthorMessage
eaglefeather
eaglefeather

Cherry Date Loaf Empty
PostSubject: Cherry Date Loaf   Cherry Date Loaf EmptyFri Apr 30, 2010 9:31 am

We mus'ent forget the sweets. Here is a great loaf recipe that I picked up somewhere in my travels and modified to meet my likes. I confess I am not good at following recipes, I invariably modifiy them to come up with my own version.

Cherry Date Loaf

Ingredients

¼ cup 50ml Butter or margarine
½ cup 125ml Dates cut in pieces (chop as fine as possible if not using food processor.)
1 tsp 5ml Baking Soda
1 cup 250ml Boiling water
1 tsp 5ml Vanilla
2 cups 500ml All purpose flour
1 cup 250ml Sugar (can be cut by up to ½ cup - 125ml or substitute artificial sweetner)
1 tsp 5ml Baking Powder
½ tsp 2ml Salt (may be omitted or cut in half)
1 cup 250ml Maraschino Cherries cut in half
1 cup 250ml Raisins or chopped nuts or both
2 eggs Beaten

Preheat oven to 350̊F (180̊C)

Method

Combine butter, dates and baking soda in bowl or food processor. Add the boiling water and vanilla.. Beat thoroughly or use food processor to almost liquify the dates.

In second bowl beat the eggs until frothy. Add to date mixture and mix thoroughly.

In a third bowl, combine flour, sugar, baking powder and salt. Mix thoroughly. Then add the raisins and/or nuts and mix to coat the raisins. Next add the cherries and do the same.

Make a well in the dry ingredients and pour in the liquid mixture. Stir gently to moisten the dry ingredients, do not over beat. Dry ingredients only need to be moistened.